This week’s society weddings…

There were two big society weddings last week (nothing to do with Cameron), and it goes without saying that yours truly was invited to, and attended, both of them (chiz chiz). Anyhow, though we wouldn’t usually stoop to such tittle tattle, I want to show you what the two grooms wore.

The first is a classic outfit with a couple of rare and unusual extras – namely a waistcoat slip and an edged morning coat. To be honest it looks very good for a modern morning dress outfit, although you can tell the coat is a little big round the waist even though it’s undone!

Ben Elliot (35) & Mary-Clare Winwood (24) - 11 year age gap? I give it 6 months

Ben Elliot (35) & Mary-Clare Winwood (24) - 11 year age gap? I give it 6 months

Number 2 is a bit more wild. Indeed, I feel slightly ashamed that I like it! However, don’t forget that checked trousers have a long tradition when it comes to morning dress and that the eye must always be the final court of appeal whatever is worn…

Jake French & Rose Laing: Checked trousers. CHECK. Double breasted waistcoat. CHECK. Anorxic girlfriend. CHECK

Jake French & Rose Laing: Checked trousers. CHECK. Double breasted waistcoat. CHECK. Anorxic girlfriend. CHECK

 

2 Comments

Filed under Morning Dress

2 responses to “This week’s society weddings…

  1. Personally, I do not like trews for morning dress (what they get up to in the Lowlands of Scotland is none of my concern). Checked trousers can work but I have never come across any that I think is harmonious and that doesn’t make one look like the Artful Dodger or Noddy Holder… I think the waistcoat must be black if checks are to be worn to avoid the whole ensemble becoming a technicoloured yawn…

  2. nuga

    Wondering if any one could assist.I am getting married in Stewart Tartan trews, very dark variation(Black. red, white). I was wondering what sort of suit/jacket could I adorn without it being a morning/tail suit? And what colour should that suit/jacket be? Finally, I really want to wear a double breasted waist coat and a bow tie or as a last resort a tie. I am totally confused as at what colours will match, I really wouldn’t like to look like a technicolour yawn as described above

Leave a Reply

